UN map of Angola
Angola map (pdf)
Angola country profile
Map from ReliefWeb
Administrative structure

Angola is currently divided into 18 provinces: Bengo, Benguela, Bie, Cabinda, Cunene, Huambo, Huila, Kuando Kubango, Kuanza Norte, Kuanza Sul, Luanda, Lunda Norte, Lunda Sul, Malanje, Moxico, Namibe, Uige, Zaire. Provinces are subdivided into 164 municipalities and 557 communes.

Download PDF Viewer

Download PDF Viewer * Adobe Acrobat PDF files require a free viewer available directly from Adobe.

The Angola Municipalities Atlas is a collection of GIS-derived maps, tabular data and related documents that provide information, from national down to municipality level, related to agriculture, livestock, household food security and more. The atlas contains data derived from a field survey (Dec 2004 - May 2006) conducted on the Angolan rural sector.

Data are integrated into a “warehouse” framework according to Dynamic Atlas technology.

View of the atlas in Dynamic Maps
Dynamic Maps interface

Background and rationale
The Government of the Kingdom of Sweden has funded several multi-sector projects (OSRO/ANG/401/SWE and OSRO/ANG/503/SWE) in Angola in which one of the components has been to support the agriculture information system of the Ministry of the Agriculture and Rural Development (MINADER). [more..]

The main goal is to develop the Angola Municipalities Atlas and strengthen the capacity of MINADER in applying this tool for management, planning and decision making. The atlas can be considered the first step towards undertaking a comprehensive National Agro-Livestock census; the last one was carried out in 1974, before Angola reached independence.

The main stakeholders are the MINADER, the Food Security Unit/Agricultural Development Institute, United Nations Agencies, European Community (or EU) and civil society.

We would like to thank all the people who have participated in this project for their availability and time to provide their contributions. More specifically we would like to thank the following:
  • The Angola Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development, who were responsible for project implementation;
  • The Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) Emergency and Rehabilitation Coordination Unit, for their role in the development of the atlas;
  • The Agrian Development Institute (IDA);
  • The Food Security Unit (GSA);
  • The Angola Institute of Geography and Cadastre (IGCA), for the contribution of topographic maps
  • The National Inter-sectoral Commission for De-mining and Humanitarian Assistance;
  • The Government of the Kingdom of Sweden, for their funding.

Swedish International Development Cooperation Agency (SIDA) Angola Institute of Geography and Cadastre (IGCA) Food Security Unit/Agricultural Development Institute (GSA/IDA) Coat of arms of the Republic of Angola